La Maisonart   John Wiseman

" Doodle Bug Roulette: Tempest", Giclée Édition 250 s/n (cat # 136), $330. to order

 

The V1 flying bomb, also known as the ‘Buzz Bomb’ or ‘Doodle Bug’, was one of Hitler’s miracle weapons that was going to help Germany conquer the Allies. These were the first cruise missiles and though rudimentary, were quite advanced for their time. V 1’s caused very real damage, but strategically they had little effect since the majority of casualties were civilians, though they did divert a lot of man power and materiel to combat them.
My painting depicts a Hawker Tempest V with code letters JF-E in hot pursuit of a ‘Doodle Bug’.  This Tempest was one of several flown by the famous French pilot Pierre Clostermann who flew in the British RAF from 1942 to the end of the war in 1945.


The Hawker Tempest was one of the fastest and most formidable fighters of WW II.  It evolved from the earlier Hawker Typhoon which started life with many teething problems. The Tempest ironed out the problems to become a versatile, durable and hard-hitting fighter. It excelled in ground attack and anti-shipping rolls as well as an interceptor. With its 2,400 horse power engine, it could cruise at well over 400 mph (640+ km per hr), and it’s phenomenal acceleration made it one of the few allied aircraft that could catch the V1’s that cruised around 400 mph. Tempest pilots accounted for 640 V1 kills out of 1,846 that were downed by aircraft.
Some 9,521 flying bombs were launched against South-East England and late in the war a further 2,448 were fired at Antwerp and other targets in Belgium. Carrying a warhead that weighed close to one ton, the missile could annihilate its target. But more often than not, the V1’s landed far wide of their intended targets. Such were the vagaries of hi tech circa 1940’s. Never-the-less, the somewhat random V1 attacks resulted in 22,892 casualties. They also accounted for 1,127,000 homes being destroyed or seriously damaged


Attacking a V1 was dicey business. The steel exteriors were impervious to small caliber machine guns and there were but few vulnerable components. The Tempest’s four 20mm cannons were very effective but if the warhead on the V1 exploded during an attack, it could prove lethal to the fighter and the pilot. When a pilot ran out of ammunition, there was another tactic called ‘tipping’ used to down the flying bombs. A pilot would maneuver his aircraft so that a wing would be just inches below one of the stubby V1’s wings. The airflow from the fighter’s wing in such proximity would cause the flying bomb to fall off course, hopefully causing it to explode harmlessly in open country side. In my painting I have depicted the moment the Tempest pilot is closing in to perform the wing tipping maneuver.

Roulette Doodle Bug

La bombe volante V1, aussi connue sous les noms anglais “Buzz Bomb” ou “Doodle Bug”, était une des armes miracles d’Hitler qui devait aider l’Allemagne à conquérir les alliés. Le V1 est le premier missile sol-sol et même s’il était rudimentaire, il était très avancé pour l’époque. Le V1 pouvait causer des dommages importants, mais avait peu d’effets stratégiques car la population civile en était les victimes. Les alliés ont par contre du détourner beaucoup de main d’œuvre et de matériel pour les combattre.
Mon aquarelle illustre un “Tempest HawkerV” portant le code JF-E à la poursuite d’un “Doodle Bug”. Ce “Tempest” est un des nombreux avions pilotés par le célèbre aviateur français Pierre Clostermann qui a volé avec le RAF Anglais à partir de1942 jusqu’à la fin de la guerre en 1945.
Le “Hawker Tempest” était un des avions de chasse le plus rapide et le plus formidable de la Seconde Guerre. Ayant évolué à partir du “Hawker Typhoon” truffé de ‘problèmes de croissance’. Le “Tempest” est devenu un avion de chasse versatile, durable et agressif. Il excellait dans les attaques au sol et les attaques contre les navires. Avec un engin de 2,400 chevaux-vapeur, il pouvait voler à une vitesse de croisière de 640km/heure et son incroyable accélération en faisait un des seuls avions à pouvoir intercepter le V1 qui volait à 640km/h. À eux seuls les pilotes des “Tempest” ont détruit 640 des 1,846 V1 captés par des avions.
Quelques 9,521 bombes volantes ont été lancées vers le sud-est de l’Angleterre et tard pendant la guerre un autre 2,448 ont été lancées vers Anvers (Antwerpen) et autres sites en Belgique. Portant une ogive d’une tonne, le missile pouvait détruire complètement une cible mais plus souvent qu’autrement le missile atterrissait loin de la cible, un caprice du H-tech circa 1940!  Malgré tout, les attaques des V1 ont fait 22,892 victimes et détruit 1,127,000 habitations.

Attaquer un V1 était une affaire risquée. Le revêtement d’acier du V1 ne pouvait être transpercé par les mitrailleuses de petit calibre et il n’y avait que peu de composantes vulnérables. Les quatre mitrailleuses du “Tempest” pouvaient être efficaces mais seulement si l’ogive du V1 explosait pendant l’attaque ce qui était souvent fatal pour l’avion de chasse et son pilote. Quand le pilote était à cours de munition, il utilisait alors une tactique qui lui permettait de déstabiliser le V1 et de le faire tomber. Le pilote devait placer son avion de façon à ce qu’une de ses ailes soit à quelques centimètres sous l’aile du V1. La turbulence provenant de l’aile du chasseur à proximité du V1 pouvait faire basculer celui-ci, et avec un peu de chance le faire exploser dans la campagne sans causer de dommages. Mon œuvre montre le moment où le pilote s’approche pour faire cette manœuvre.